Jewish Holidays

The Jewish Sabbath begins every Friday at sunset and ends Saturday at nightfall.
It is a day of prayer and study and no work, writing, commerce, or travel is permitted.

Click here for Candle-lighting times


 

All Jewish Holy Days and Festivals begin at sundown the evening before the date shown and conclude at nightfall of the last day. Fast Days may be from sunset to sunset or sunrise to sunset.


2021

Monday, November 29 – Monday, December 6
CHANUKAH – Festival. There are no prohibitions on this holiday.

Tuesday, December 14
ASARAH B’TEVET – Fast from daybreak to nightfall. No other prohibitions on this holiday.

2022

Monday, January 17
TU B’SHEVAT – Festival. There are no prohibitions on this holiday.

Wednesday, March 16
TA’ANIT ESTHER – Fast from daybreak to nightfall. No other prohibitions on this holiday.

Thursday, March 17
PURIM – Festival. There are no prohibitions on this holiday.

Saturday April 16 – Sunday, April 17
PASSOVER 1st & 2nd days – Holy Days. No work, writing, commerce or travel is permitted. Dietary restrictions apply for the duration of the 8 day holiday, including those days which are not designated as holy days.

Friday, April 22 – Saturday, April 23
PASSOVER 7th & 8th days – Holy Days. No work, writing, commerce or travel is permitted. Dietary restrictions apply.

Thursday, May 19
LAG B’OMER – Festival. There are no prohibitions on this holiday.

Sunday, Jun 5 – Monday, June 6
SHAVUOT – Holy Days. No work, writing, commerce or travel is permitted.

Sunday, July 17
SHIVA ASAR B’TAMMUZ – Fast from daybreak to nightfall. No other prohibitions on this holiday. Begins the 3 weeks of mourning for the destruction of the Temple in Jerusalem.

Sunday, August 7
TISHA B’AV – Fast from sundown on Saturday to nightfall on Sunday. Some observers refrain from work. No other prohibitions on this holiday.

Monday, September 26– Tuesday, September 27
ROSH HASHANAH – High Holy Days. No work, writing, commerce or travel is permitted. Begins the 10 days of repentance.

Wednesday, September 28
TZOM GEDALIA – Fast from daybreak to nightfall. No other prohibitions on this holiday.

Wednesday, October 5
YOM KIPPUR – High Holy Day – The holiest day of the Jewish calendar. Fast from sundown on Tuesday to nightfall on Wednesday. Continuous prayer throughout the day. No work, writing, commerce or travel is permitted.

Monday, October 10 – Tuesday, October 11
SUKKOT – Holy Days. No work, writing, commerce or travel is permitted.

Sunday, October 16
HOSHANA RABAH – Prayer and feasting. There are no prohibitions on this holiday.

Monday, October 17
SHMINI ATZERET – Holy Day. No work, writing, commerce or travel is permitted.

Tuesday, October 18
SIMCHAT TORAH – Holy Day. No work, writing, commerce or travel is permitted.

 

The Sabbath and some holy days require preparation before sundown and some observances at the end of the day.
When planning events before or after these days, consideration should be given to those requirements and for allowing time for people to travel to and from their homes.

Click here for a calendar through 2030